Grants and Conference Awards

3M Scholarship for IVNNZ Inc. Members (established 2011)

  • The 2014 scholarship successful IVNNZ Inc. member winner was Bev Hopper from Waitemata DHB.
  • Details of the scholarship - 3M would like to show their support and commitment to IVNNZ Inc. members, by offering a scholarship opportunity for continuing education of infusion therapy nurses in New Zealand. 3M would like to make this scholarship open to all current IVNNZ Inc. members. The applicant is required to submit a paper focused on intravenous therapy to the Secretary IVNNZ Inc. The submitted paper will undergo blind peer review and the winner will be decided by an independent panel selected by the IVNNZ Inc. committee.

Baxter Healthcare Medication Safety Excellence Award (established 2014)

The Medication Safety Award is a $5000 award recognising an individual who has demonstrated outstanding innovation and leadership in the advancement of Medication Safety in 2013, through the design and/or implementation of a program encompassing at least one of the following criteria:

  • Introduction of a pre-filled/ pre-mixed product assisting with the avoidance of medication error
  • Utilisation of Closed Systems or Needle free technology for the safe delivery of Medication
  • Introduction of a product or service featuring enhanced packaging/labelling
  • Design and implementation of an education program which has led to increased compliance with best practice in the preparation or administration of medication
  • Initiatives should have a positive impact on patient outcomes or staff safety, or a combination of both

To be eligible for the award, applicants are required to submit a 1500-2000 word paper on the initiative, which will be blinded prior to review by a panel of representatives from The Health, Quality and Safety Commission of New Zealand. Papers should include demonstrable impact of the program, for example a decrease in BSI rates or reduction in medication error rate. The award is open to all members of IVNNZ Inc. currently working in a New Zealand healthcare institution.

IVNNZ Inc. Scholarship (established 2009)

  • Applications can be submitted at any time, however, please note there is only one scholarship awarded annually
  • Applicant must be a registered health professional with current practicing certificate.
  • Applicant must be a current financial IVNNZ Inc. member.
  • Membership held for at least two years.
  • Application must relate to IV therapy.
  • Priority will be given to attend an international conference.
  • This scholarship is for $3000 and awarded annually
  • Apply in writing, enclosing an electronic presentation to the Secretary.
  • One person per application.
  • The successful applicant will be required to write an article for the IVNNZ Inc. newsletter and present a paper at the next IVNNZ Inc. conference.
  • Recipient of the 2010 scholarship was Lynette Lennox from Te Awamutu who used this scholarship to assist her to attend the annual INS Meeting in Louieville.
  • Recipient of the 2012 scholarship was Ray Pickles from Gisborne, who used this scholarship to assist him to attend, and present at the International Infection Control Conference in Shanghai in April 2013.
  • Recipient of the 2014 scholarship was Kate Laidlow from Rotorua who used the scholarship to assist her to attend WoCoVa 3rd World Congress in Berlin.
  • 2018 application process is currently open

IVNNZ Inc. Education, Study and Research Grant

  • Applicant must be a Registered Nurse with current practicing certificate.
  • Applicant must be a current financial IVNNZ Inc. member.
  • Membership held for one year.
  • Application must relate to IV therapy.
  • Priority will be given to IVNNZ Inc. members who have not previously accessed the Fund.
  • This grant is for financial assistance of up to $350 to attend conferences, or to complete study/research
  • Please contact

Infusion Nurses Society USA - The Ireta Neumann Scholarship

  • To support continuing education in infusion therapy for foreign-educated nurses living outside the United States.
  • Eligible Candidates are non USA educated nurses outside the United States who wish to expand their knowledge of infusion practices through attendance at an INS Annual Meeting. Applicants need not be members of INS.
  • Selection Criteria In a one-page summary, the applicant must demonstrate how attending an INS National Meeting will benefit his or her patients, community, and practice by contributing to the base of infusion knowledge in his or her country. The applicant must also demonstrate how the knowledge gained at an INS meeting might be incorporated into existing modes of infusion care abroad. Application must be submitted in English. Please do not include your name or the institution you work for in the body of your submission.
  • $5,000USD (two scholarships will be awarded)
  • Full details

(Sponsored by BD 1999 - 2012, 2016)

(Sponsored by REM SYSTEMS LTD 2014)

  • 2016 Christchurch: Lynette Lennox - Long Haul Flights with Smart Pumps - 8 years in the making.
  • 2014 Wellington: Kerry Davis - Medication Safety - 'a private concern' or 'everybody's business'
  • 2012 Rotorua: Elizabeth Culverwell - In the wake of the quake...a lesson from nature
  • 2010 Christchurch: Carolyn Kirker - Closing the System - introducing a closed luer access device to the haemodialysis catheter
  • 2008 Auckland: Susie Rich - A problem with needles - A review of sharps safety and improving practice in a Emergency Department setting
  • 2007 Christchurch: Stella Smith - Amoxycillin via a continuous infusion - should you or shouldn't you?
  • 2005 Hamilton: Paula Wallis - CVC Tip migration - A Case Study
  • 2004 Dunedin: Suzie Rishworth - Patients experience with Blood Transfusion
  • 2002 Palmerston North: Doryan Mahalm - Expanding our roles as IV Nurses
  • 2001 Nelson: Carolyn Barrett - Medications Errors - The Silent Epidemic
  • 1999 Wellington: Melanie Taylor - A fascination with Phlebitis

Sponsored by NZMS

  • 2016 Christchurch: Bev Hopper - OPIVA "Its a conversation starter at Waitemata"
  • 2014 Wellington:
  • 2016 Christchurch: Becky Conway
  • 2014 Wellington: Elana Brokenshire
  • 2012 Rotorua: Peter Carr
  • 2010 Christchurch: Sheree Mitchell and Emily Fallon
  • 2008 Auckland: Rebecca Ferguson and Colette Breton
  • 2007 Christchurch:
  • 2005 Hamilton: Peter Boon

Sponsored by Terumo

  • 2016 Christchurch: Neil Hellewell - Its like Herding Cats
  • 2014 Wellington: Pip Francis
  • 2008 Auckland: Kate Laidlow
  • 2007 Christchurch: Peter Boon
Awarded to a member who upholds the standards of IVNNZ Inc. and lead by example in their own clinical practice, advancing education abnd sharing knowledge

  • 2016 - Tayna Clarke (Gold Coast Hospital, Australia)
  • 2014 - Pip Francis (CDHB)
  • 2012 - Nigel McRae (NDHB)
  • 2010 - Elizabeth Culverwell (CDHB)
  • 2008 - Kate Laidlow (Lakes DHB), Sam Cotton (ADHB) and Rebekah Watson (ADHB)
  • 2007 - Philipa Francis, Steve Cotterill (CHDB) and Glenda Barber
  • 2005 - Doryan Mahalm (CDHB), Christopher Corkery (NZBS), Samatha Cotton (ADHB), Paula Wallis (CMDHB) and Karen Gunson (CMDHB)
  • 2004 - Jan Martyn (NMDHB), Cynthia Stokes (CDHB), Helen Parker and Sandy Radford (Tauranga)
  • 2003 - Wendy Mellish (ODHB) and Janet Hogan (WDHB)
This is awarded to members that uphold the standards of IVNNZ Inc., work tirelessly behind the scenes to advance education and show that extra commitment over and beyond what is required.

  • 2016: Christine Beasley, Heather Hocking
  • 2014: Audrey Chua, Dianne Arthur, Kerry Davis
  • 2012: Brenda McAlpine, Fiona Williams, Tracey Kunac
  • 2010: Carolyn Blom, Paula Wallis
  • 2008: Elana Brokenshire
  • 2007: Moira Bebbington, Margie Burt
  • 2004: Elizabeth Culverwell, Doryan Mahalm, Carolyn Wilson, Karen Kemp
  • 2002: Margie Burt